Soyrizo, Kale & Potato Soup

I normally plan out my weeknight meals on Sunday and shop accordingly, but somehow I always seem to leave out the weekend dinners.  So once hunger set in last night, I stared blankly at the contents of my fridge clueless as to what I could throw together quickly to satisfy my belly.  Left over soyrizo…veggie dogs…beets…salad…ICK!  Nothing sounded appealing, until I remembered I had some kale.  Mmmm, kale chips!  But that wouldn’t be a very filling dinner.  I started envisioning soup.  I’m a soup freak, love creating soups, eating soups, sharing soups.

I wish I could think of a fun creative name for this soup!  The inspiration comes from Olive Garden’s Zuppa Toscana.  I like the spice and texture of OG’s Zuppa, but I’m always dreaming up ways to make yummy dishes healthier.

I’ve never made my own vegetable broth, but as I combed through my fridge last night, I noticed several veggies that were in dire need of being used up quickly.  I used the amounts that I had on hand, but if you cook anything like me – I don’t pay attention to quantities, so much as flavor.

Vegetable Broth:

  • 4 C water
  • Chopped Celery
  • Carrots, peeled and chopped
  • Green Bell Pepper, chopped (I’m sure red or yellow would be great as well)
  • Onion, chopped
  • Jalapeno, seeds removed and chopped
  • Onion, chopped
  • Garlic, chopped
  • Salt, pepper, cumin & chipotle seasoning to taste (if you don’t have a chipotle season, try mixing together smoked paprika, cayenne & chile powder)

I brought the water to a boil with all my chopped veggies already mixed in and added the seasoning.  After boiling for about 5-7 minutes, I covered and reduced the heat to about medium and let the mixture cook for about 15 more minutes.  I strained the broth and added my soup ingredients.

  • 1 C washed and torn kale
  • 2 red skin potatoes thinly sliced
  • 1/2 tube soyrizo
  • 1 tbsp chopped parsley

I brought the broth to a soft boil and let the soup cook for about 20 minutes.  Cooled it for 5 minutes and then served it.

I should note that tossing a jalapeno into the broth may not be for everyone.  Although I didn’t think the soup was super spicy, hubby was choking.  Chile adds a really unique and tasty spice that I adore, but sometimes the spice can be too much for the back of your throat.  As with most of my recipes, this soup is really up to your imagination and the ingredients are definitely easily substituted for other veggies and seasonings!

Leave a Reply

