Turkey Stroganoff

I have been craving stroganoff for a few weeks now, so when hubby ran to the grocery store for me last week, I asked him to pick up some mushrooms.  I’m not sure why I didn’t think to check if we had egg noodles or any other pasta but I did not.  The stroganoff had to wait until I made my weekend store run and last night – my stroganoff craving was satisfied!

I don’t necessarily watch my carbs or follow a low carb diet, but I for my ‘pasta’ I used half of a spaghetti squash.  For the boys, I boiled up some egg noodles.  I steamed green beans for our side, and then lightly sautéed them in olive oil, sprinkled a bit of cracked pepper and sea salt over the beans, then squeezed half the juice of lemon and stirred in just a touch of parmesan cheese into our green side.

Turkey Stroganoff

  • 1/2 lb ground turkey (I used the 7% fat and drain the liquid once cooked)
  • 1/2 c mushrooms
  • 1/2 c light sour cream
  • 1/4 c veggie broth
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic, sliced
  • Thyme, parsley, salt and pepper to taste

Saute onion, garlic in a bit of olive oil and seasoning, about 2 – 3 minutes.  Stir in turkey and cook over medium heat until slightly brown and juices run clear, about 7 – 10 minutes.  At this point I normally drain my turkey, but if you want more flavor and aren’t counting calories, no need to drain!  After draining turkey mixture, return to stove on low to medium heat, stir in sour cream, veggie broth and mushrooms.  Cover and simmer about 5 – 7 minutes.  Serve over your choice of pasta and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

