Whole Wheat Veggie Pizza

Normally I’m not a pizza person, too much cheese and grease runs amok on my belly.  But hubby and I had a lazy day last weekend and I flat out didn’t feel like putting too much effort into dinner.  I brainstormed for a minute and decided a veggie pizza sounded good.  It took me less than 10 minutes to mix, knead and roll out a whole wheat crust (2 cups whole wheat flour, 2 tbsp olive oil, 2 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 cup of water, generous mixture of parsley, basil and oregano).  I thinly sliced up some red, green and orange bell peppers, roasted pablano chile, 1/2 zucchini, and red onion.  After spreading about a 1/4 cup of fire roasted tomato spaghetti sauce over the dough, I evenly spread out the sliced veggies and covered with a bit of mozzarella cheese.  Popped it into a preheated oven at 400 degrees and baked for 20 minutes and yum, we had ourselves a quick healthy meal!  The real test however, will be if it is approved by our wee man (survey results coming soon)!

 

Leave a Reply

