Roasted Veggie Pitas

This is something I’ve been making for a few years for me and hubby, it’s quick, delicious and there are so many options to change up the flavor each time.  Last night, I used store bought whole wheat pitas, but next time I think I will make my own flat bread.  Here’s a great flat bread recipe I found, but already had the pitas…so next time!  Start by slicing some green, red, yellow and orange bell peppers, slice a zucchinni into thick rounds and slice a sweet onion.   On an oiled cookie sheet, place all veggies in a single layer, drizzled with a bit of olive oil and seasoned with S & P (I also used a chipotle seasoning mixture).  Next, into the oven for about 20 minutes at 350 degrees (I like a crunchier veggie, so 15 minutes works too)!  I had some left over asparagus, so I sliced some up to include with my other veggies.  Once the roasted vegetables are ready, split a pita in half and slather on some hummus (I used roasted red pepper) and layer on the veggies.  If you’re a cheese fan, swiss or mozzarella work well.  Fresh spinach is a great addition to this sandwich.  Add a slice of your choice of cheese and then pop in the oven for a few minutes…Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

