Cream of Broccoli Soup

Typically ‘easy dinner’ night in my house is left-overs, or more likely – a pizza for the boys.  So last weekend when the last thing I wanted to do was cook, but I didn’t want left-overs or junk, I did a quick scan of the fridge.  Broccoli, onions, some milk, shredded cheese, day old foccacia bread… Soup it was! It took about 5 minutes to chop some mini sweet peppers, garlic and onion and sauteed them in coconut oil.  While my veggie saute was sizzling, I chopped up some broccoli florets and stems and boiled in vegetable stock.  Once soft, I added in my veggie saute, seasoned with cayenne, salt, pepper, added some milk and used my blender stick to puree.  Prep and cooking time was less than thirty minutes, and even though our temps are rapidly approaching the 80 degree mark, warm soup topped with a bit of monterrey jack and cheddar and foccacia bread for a light dinner was quite enjoyable!

Leave a Reply

