Chipotle Fish Tacos

I love fish tacos.  Really, I love fish tacos!  LOVE EM!  There are so many variations of flavor and for the most part, they are healthier than their beef and pork counterparts.  In my unofficial quest to not make the same things for dinner all the time, I tried my hand with some frozen cod filets.

First we had baked cod with olive oil & lemon drizzle finished off with a fresh basil sprinkle.  Yum-O, but it did a get a bit dry for my taste.  A couple of weeks later, I figured it would be fun to venture into the unknown.  I’ve made shrimp tacos before, I’m a master at turkey tacos – but I have never tried to make fish tacos.

Here’s what I came up with:

  • 4 thawed and chunked cod filets
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1-2 cloves crushed garlic
  • 1/2 chopped sweet onion
  • chopped cilantro (as much or as little as you like)
  • fresh lime juice (I suggest the juice of 1 – 2 limes)
  • S & P (season to taste)

Chunk the thawed cod filets (note – I’m sure any fish will do, but this is what I had on hand).  Pour oil into pan and heat over medium heat.  Once oil is heated, add garlic and onion, saute for about 2-4 minutes.  Add cod chunks and cook until done (approximately 6 minutes).  Add seasoning, cilantro and lime juice, simmer for about 2 more minutes.

I served our tacos de pescado (bacalao) con corn tortillas, but you can substitute flour.  I topped the tacos with a southwestern slaw (cole slaw mix, a bit of mayo, a splash of seasoned rice wine vinegar, S & P), and a dab of chipotle mayo (exactly how it sounds, puree 1-3 chipotle chiles with mayo).  Garnish with lime and cilantro, and you are done! I served our tacos with calabacitas…Enjoy!

Leave a comment