Day 2 – Buck Trends

Buck Trends – Just because it’s popular doesn’t mean it’s smart or good for you.  Enlist fellow trend buckers and create a trend of your own.

I can think of tons of things that are trendy that aren’t smart for a person, but my goal here was to share some thought-provoking posts… so here goes!

I believe I joined Facebook in 2008, and yes it was after the novelty of MySpace wore off.  I started tweeting  in 2009, not really knowing what in the world I would tweet about or why I wanted to squish my thoughts in 140 characters.  The irony of it all is that I have been in sales and marketing for most of my professional life, and I never recognized the value of those tools in my work place until about 2010.  Ah, yes, but we’re flashing back to 2008 and my FB page.  I posted pictures of me and my hubby, after all, we were newlyweds and everything we did had this twinkle and sparkle, a  feeling of fluttery butterflies… of course I couldn’t wait to share those moments with my friends.  Then of course, there were outings with our child, again intimate family time, moments caught forever via digital images, and for some reason I felt the need to plaster these images on my social media page.  Originally, I thought what everyone thought, it was a fun new way to stay connected to friends and family and share photos and experiences.  But after a year or two of mindless posts, pics of events, family, sunsets, etc and a swelling list of friends, colleagues, acquaintances, long-lost high school people (you get the picture), I really began to be turned off by social media. 

I had grown tired of social media partly because it had become a large source of marketing the company I worked for.  To devote a chunk of my work day to create buzz worthy and thought-provoking content for a business page really isn’t my favorite thing to do.  So when I would get home and log on, or find some free time to pull up a social media app on my phone, I would read through other people’s rants, negativity and most surprisingly – some bullying posts.  Wow, what a turn off!  Then one day, it hit me like a ton of bricks when a negative post was clearly directed at me.  I immediately called the friend up, got voice mail (of course).  Hmmm, first of all, when did it become acceptable to bash a ‘friend’ under the guise of a broad yet candid post on a social media page?  A true friend, or any person with integrity would have the moxie to address his or her issue personally.

Posting special pictures and experiences that families once held private and sacred.  I found that when engaging in posting my life’s story online, the intimacy of experiences that I share with my family was violated.  I of course was the one sharing all that information, so I am definitely the culprit!  I began to see that by posting everything online rather than sharing my news personally with the people who really matter to me actually put a gap and a distance in those relationships.  In addition, I didn’t very much like finding out things about friends and family second-hand either.

Now I realize that is quite a lengthy commentary about a current trend that I have bucked.  But I feel passionate about it and wanted to share my experience with it.  While I do still log on to my social media accounts, it is to read up on posts about things I’m truly interested in.  The difference for me, is that I try to stay unplugged from social media and in-tune with my life.

Now please take what I’m saying with a grain of salt.  I’m not saying that everyone should quite social media or that it’s pure poison; I just feel as if it’s become such a huge part of our lives today that it might not hurt to unplug for a day or two.  To take my trend bucking to the next level, I am going to replace my social media time for two days a week and replace it with something else I enjoy.  This week it will be cooking up some glorious pumpkin dish (recipe to follow) and a new work out.  If you replaced a day or two of social media with another activity, what would it be?  Will you do it this week?

Day 3 – Rage Against the Machine – Use your healthy frustration about the unhealthy status quo to spark creativity and determination… da da da – perhaps this will be a continuation of trend bucking?!?

One thought on “Day 2 – Buck Trends

Leave a Reply

