Day 3 – Rage Against the Machine

Rage Against the Machine – Use your healthy frustration about the unhealthy status quo to spark creativity and determination.

When trying to figure out what topics I could include in the unhealthy status quo, I was really drawing a blank.  Not that I couldn’t think of anything, but simply my mind was flooded with ideas.  My mind swelled with so many ideas that I really found it difficult to focus on just one.  Needless to say, there has been a delay in the day 3 post, as I was completely stumped.  Then I saw an interview with Dr. Phil.  Yes, I know what you’re thinking – either I’ve lost you already, or you are rolling your eyes thinking to yourself, “Oh great, this chick is going to get all, how’s that workin’ for you and perception is reality” (two of my favorite Dr. Phil-isms)!  But no, I’m not going use Dr. Phil as my soundboard, he just gave me a great idea with an acronym he uses in his new book.  It is B.A.I.T.E.R.S.

B – backstabbers

A – abusers

 I – Imposters

T – Takers

E – Exploiters

R – Reckless

I haven’t read this book, but I did see an interesting interview about the content.  Essentially, what Dr. Phil discusses is the fact that we already have these so-called ‘baiters’ in our lives.  He is very blunt in saying they could be friends, colleagues, acquaintances – or even family members.  Shocking, I know!  To think that in my tiny little world I could know and be close to someone who doesn’t want me to be successful, or in some way will throw obstacles in my path.  But upon further examination of conflict I’ve had in my life, I saw two things – either I recklessly created the conflict in my life, or there was a pesky someone, a wolf if you will, draped in a lamb’s skin…  As I get older, I’d like to think I seldom cause conflict or stress in my life, but I definitely am guilty of making my life more difficult.  However, I have not always had people in my life that have my best interest at heart, I am guilty of the naivety that all people I have in my life want the best for themselves and everyone around them.  Unfortunately, it’s just not true.

So back to this unhealthy status quo.  I feel as if there are definitely people who – like me, believe that everyone has a good heart, giving the benefit of the doubt.  And having that belief, I allowed people in my life that have more than wore out their welcome.  In a way this relates directly to #2 – Buck Trends post.  I loathed the negativity I was seeing day in and day out on my FB feed.  I let it really bother me for quite sometime before I realized, I’m the only one who has the power to change the way I feel about it all!  My health frustration about it all has really allowed me to see that if I used even a fraction of the time I used to spend on social media sites to do something I was interested in, or do something to better me personally, then perhaps that would blossom into bigger better things.  Once I decided that it was ok to not care about all that word vomit, poetic opinionated rants, and all around crapola, I felt a new sense of freedom!  A renewed sense of privacy and walls protecting me from – baiters.

Check back day 4 – Celebrate What’s Good – Look for signs of progress and rejoice when you find them.  Give yourself a pat on the back every time you make your health a priority.

Leave a Reply

