Guacamole Topped Teriyaki Turkey Burgers

I decided to take a break from wordy blogging and get back to what I know best…cooking!  The turkey burgs came out marvelous tonight folks!

Here’s what you need….

Guacamole:

  • 2-3 ripe avocados
  • 1/4 of medium red onion (I’m not afraid of a little dragon breath, so I usually use a bit more)
  • 3-4 cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 c cilantro
  • 1 jalapeno (remove seeds if you want less spice
  • juice of 1/2 lime or lemon (I use whatever I have on hand)
  • S&P, cumin to taste

I combine all my ingredients in my chopper until I get the texture I want.  Serving suggestions – top with campari tomatoes and cheese.

Burgers: 

  • 1 lb ground turkey 
  • 1/4 white or yellow onion
  • 1/8 c fresh ginger
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 c cilantro
  • 1/4 c teriyaki sauce of choice (bonus for homemade!)
  • S&P to taste

I combine all ingredients except the turkey into my chopper, then marry the mixture with the turkey.  Scoop mixture and form a patty (between the size of a raquetball and tennnis ball).  My grill likes to consume turkey burgers, so tonight I sprayed some cooking spray on a sheet of foil, placed my burgers on top and put foil right on the grill top.  Grill 4-5 minutes per side and they are good to go!

My boys eat their burgers on buns…right now I’m trying eat gluten free, so I placed my burger on top of a small bed of lettuce, topped the burger with guacamole, campari tomatoes and red onion.  The burger was so yummy, I had a second helping.  ENJOY!

Turkey Burger

Leave a Reply

