#17 – REAP the REWARDS!

“The art of writing is the art of discovering what you believe.”

Gustave Flaubert

Number 17 of my 101 days of blogging (inspiration from 101 Revolutionary Ways to be Healthy) –  REAP THE REWARDS – Look and feel better, sure. But also think better, smell better, give better, love better, live better, be better.  I’m also following Robin Sharma’s 62 Tips to Get Unstuck in 2013 –  Remember that your diet affects your moods so eat like an athlete (this doesn’t mean you need to eat a ton of carbs – just look to consume unprocessed foods, please take a look at the GUTSY GIRL APPROACH – in fact, here is the GUTSY GIRL’S BIBLE).
recipeAs I said in my last post – please send me your unhealthy recipes for a healthy make-over.  I absolutely love to dissect recipes and then put them back together again, just a tad bit healthier, perhaps even a bit more yummy.  I love a good challenge – so PLEASE!  Send me your candidate for a recipe makeover.

On to #17…What do you do to live healthier and how does it affect you in a positive way?  Do you eat well, work out, pray or reflect on your blessings?  Do your healthy choices for you body and mind make you stronger?  Just a little bit stronger… did you just hear that Sara Evans song in your head, too?!

A friend told me a few years back that he was making a true attempt to ‘walk in the light‘.  I thought it was odd that he even made that the real light
comment, as this friend I always looked up to as someone with high morals and high self standards.  He never did quite explain to me how he may not be following the most righteous path, but when I reflect on that conversation with my friend, it has made me realize that EVERYONE encounters struggles of the body, heart and mind.

As we age, hopefully we take our experiences – good, bad and indifferent and build upon them.  Hopefully we learn from our mistakes and press forward on a stronger foundation with which to conquer our goals, fears – the fucked up society that we exist in.  I’m a firm believer that everything happens for a reason, even if it’s negative…there is a purpose.  Even when it’s difficult, I try to identify the positive thing about a negative experience…I’ll tell you what, I’ve had some really dark experiences.  Experiences that I’ve dwelled on, that blocked me from moving forward.  It wasn’t until I met my most wonderful husband, that I was able to actually see a situation for what it is and embrace it.  Even when it was ugly.

As strange as it seems, I’m happy to have experienced all the negative things.  I may have not been able to see it at the time, but eventually I learned something invaluable, and ultimately I REAP THE REWARDS of the lessons learned.

Next time from 101 Revolutionary Ways to be Healthy 101ways_018 – Drink water, eat good food, move, rest, relax, connect. Don’t sweat the more complex stuff until you’ve got a grip on the basics. From 62 Ways to Get Unstuck in 2013 from Robin Sharma –  Spend an hour a day without stimulation (no phone+no FaceBook+no noise). <——– I have plenty to say on this!

I hope you all have a rewarding day!

 

 

Leave a Reply

