FAKE IT TILL YOU MAKE IT!

“My ideas usually come not at my desk writing but in the midst of living” – .Anais Nin

TODAY:

101 Revolutionary Ways to be Healthy #19 – FAKE IT TILL YOU MAKE IT: Don’t yet see yourself as a super-healthy person?  Experiment with doing a little of what you’d do if you were already supremely healthy and fit.  As often as you can, act as if your commitment were unwavering.  From Robin Sharma’s 62 Ways to get Unstuck –  Release the energy vampires from your life. They are destroying your performance.  I want to address –  FUN SUCKERS.

Originally for this post I was going to discuss my goal to not let people’s comments and judgement’s about my life bother me.  My attempt at letting things roll off my back, dust off my shoulders and soldier on. BUT – two things have happened in the last 72 hours…  One – a person I never met passed away.  Even though I never met Chi Cheng, he touched my life.  I LOVE MUSIC.  I ❤ the Deftones and I freaking love to learn about interesting intellectual people.  Chi Cheng was nothing short of this…  Then today, working away, I opened up a new window on my PC to Google something and I read about the explosions in Boston.  WOW…  Who knows what happened, who set this destruction in motion – who cares, WTF?????  I’m a runner (I’ve been on a long break, but I’m a runner dammit)!  I am so curious to know what coward shmuck plotted such a disgusting attack.

My husband showed me an awesome post from Patton Oswalt…  Well said sir.  Aside from my family, I love music and running events.  Both take talent and guts.  I have gotten through a run sans music, but I’m an endurance runner and when there is nothing left, I have my songs to push me to finish my running endeavors.

I’m usually quite a wordy person, and at this point, my words aren’t very nice (enter the GOLDEN RULE)!  I’m having the hardest time wrapping my brain around how someone and/or people could commit such a horrible crime and to involve innocent people… it’s such a shame.  Should we as a community just anticipate that any given moment our lives will be changed forever for no good reason?

I understand, and believe that life is a gift, but why do such absurd and unbelievable events have to impact humanity?  Really, at the end of the day – no matter your beliefs, your religion, your political affiliation – what matters to any of us the most?  I can only answer this question for me…my family matters.  Me being with them, raising my children, the ability to share a laugh and a meal with my husband…an unexpected visit from my brother and understanding my parents just a little more…those are the moments that matter to me.  To imagine having those experiences ripped away because of someone else hatred-fill vengeance makes me sick.  Shit like this keeps me up at night.  Why in the world did I bring innocent kids into such a hate-filled world???

When I can calm down about Boston, the loss of a great musician and seeker of knowledge… I (just like you) can put it all into perspective.  “Release the energy vampires from your life.  They are destroying your performance.”  

This is my life, you have yours.  It is ours to do what we will.  I guess it all boils down to the fact that we only have today and we will do what we can within our means to make it meaningful.  So whether that means we are teachers, seekers or revolutionaries – we all have a purpose and we need to wake each day remembering that fact.  I don’t know what I will do with tomorrow, but I guess I can say for today I will enjoy and be thankful for what I have.  I have a roof over my head, food to make a fantastic meal, but most of all – I have my family, I live for them.  My faith in humanity is wavering, but I will FAKE IT TILL I MAKE IT… I will address the FUN SUCKERS next time, for now – I am going to go sooth my crying baby.  Good night!

 

Leave a Reply

